Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Umpiring question obstruction in circle

If a shooter, say GS, is shooting, marked by GK, is the other shooter GA allowed to stand with her arms up under the net (within a metre of GD) while the shooter prepares to take the shot, or can she only raise her arms for the rebound once the shooter has shot? Or is it obstruction GA on GD?

no it isnt obstruction on the GD as she isnt raising her arms to defend the GD, nor is she impeding the movement or pass as the GD does not have the ball so 3ft does not matter.  

Thanks that's what I would have thought but two experienced umpires both told me that because the GA has her arms raised in an unnatural position away from the body (reaching up for a rebound before the ball has been played) and is wedged up pretty close behind the GD under the post to try to get the rebound first, that is obstruction?

The wedging up pretty close behind the GD maybe more the issue rather than the raised arms.  Wedging behind implies interference/possible contact with the GD's ability to defend and if she has taken up her defensive stance first and interference occurs it could draw an obstruction/contact call.  Can't see that raising arms up waiting for a rebound rather than directing them to hold out a player would attract an obstruction call. 

Yes I think that's it, thanks

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans