Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Stepping In - Penalty Pass or Shot Rule

Are shooters still allowed to take a step in (grounding both feet) when a penalty pass or shot is awarded or has this rule been superseded?

no that rule still exists, but i always it best to ask the umpire at the time, for i have been penalised for stepping when i thought i was allowed to step in and wasnt.  so my advise is never assume, and ask if you can.

There is no rule that covers a "step in" on a penalty pass or shot unless you mean the general footwork rule.  The penalty pass or shot is to be taken where the infringement occured i.e. where the defender was standing at the time of the ifringement unless that puts the shooter at a disadvantage in which case they would remain where they were.  The umpire should set where the penalty is to be taken and if the shooter is not sure, ask the umpire BEFORE moving and taking the penalty.  Any player, shooter or otherwise, can step/run on as long as the grounded foot is not regrounded.  May have been confusion between the two rules here but if you stepped in to take a shot from where the defender was standing when penalised that is correct and umpire should have set the penalty there.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans