TRANSFORM YOUR TEAM'S SEASON WITH PROFESSIONALLY PLANNED SESSIONS
Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.JOIN NOW
I keep coming across situations of umpires reversing play for "pass not set". Typically where we want to take the pass speedily the ball is laid off, it is then being reversed as the offending player has not been standing by our side and ball given back to the offender. Surely this can not be the correct use of the rule? Some who contacts but then chooses not to set the penalty in time is then given the ball back? I understand it being reversed if the pass is not set from the correct position, but surely not for not waiting for the offender to be by our side!
Hi Jane, the player taking the penalty must wait for the offender to stand down - if the offender is tardy then the offender can be penalised for delaying play and the umpire can advance the penalty.If the player taking the penalty pass does not wait then the call is penalty not set.
If it is for a free pass then the player needs to eyeball the umpire to check that the pass is taken correctly where indicated by the umpire.
It's god practice to get your players to eyeball the umpire who called the penalty before taking the pass. Cheers.
i have seen this too, and graeme is correct. you must wait for the player to be "out of play" before taking the pass. its frustrating, but what part of our rules of netball arent?...lol
thank you for your responses
Culture impacts how players work together, behave, feel and communicate. How can you as a coach help sculpt your team culture?
Cup final season is upon us! That's why we take a look at how to best prepare your players for the end of season showdowns!
The helpful tips, ideas and drills are super useful for developing our coaching abilities and the abilities of our players.
Give it a try - it's better in the app