Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Junior netball umpiring query about shooting.

Can someone please confirm the ruling on a goal scored at Junior level (net 9 feet), when the ball bounces off the post above the net, before dropping in to the goal. I presumed that this would not be allowed as a goal as it uses the post like a back board in basketball but was told by another coach that this was ok? Does anyone know the official ruling here? Thank you

as long a the ball goes in then it doesn't matter what it bounces off unless it is not on the court or outside the shooting circle.  the post is considered to be on court and therefore is allowed to be touched by the ball prior to the ball going throw the hoop.  the post can also be used to be bounced off as an off court throw in and regained by the same person who court it.  however the post may not be used by a player i.e. balancing to defend a shot, or used to gain height while getting rebounds.  

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans