Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

GS/GA playing the ball off the post

Does there have to be enough room for a defending player to move in between the distance that the ball travels when a GS/GA plays the ball off the post from either the back line or from within the shooting circle (short pass)?

Nope/Maybe. If only 1 person is involved (bouncing ball off post to themselves) then No short pass BUT if passing the ball via the post to another player then the short pass rule applies. No such thing as a short pass off the post involving one player as it is between the HANDS of the passer and the HANDS of the receiver. If there is only one player then there is NO receiver. 

Passing in from the goal line (throw-in), the only thing the player must be aware of is that they must be on court before touching the ball again - otherwise it is an incorrect throw-in.

As an umpire and coach this is how I coach players and umpire up to Premier level.

You must remember that the distance is measured on court though.

With your interpretation Graeme of the passer and receiver, wouldn't the person end up being both. Therefore if I stood in front of the post and bounced the ball directly off it and court it again from an on court position, with no room for another player to intercept the ball (using the new wording) would that not be a short pass?

Under new rules - yes, that is correct.

Agree with Graeme - the new rules in place this year have been modified to make it a short pass if there is not.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans