Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Ball thrown over a third

The over night we were playing and the opposing team threw the ball over the centre third . The ball wasn't touched or received in this third, however it did bounce in the third. The upmire played on as it had bounced. Is this correct ?

No that's wrong, it must be touched by either team in each third. So it should have been a free pass in the goal third for over a third.

Agree, umpire was incorrect, the ball has to be touched by a player of either team, who must be completely within the third (So not straddling the line with a foot in centre third and other foot in goal third)

Yes, the players didn't touch the ball, over the third as of if they had touched it, it would be your team's ball.

this ocured to my team 3 times during a game.  you get bad calls quite a bit in the younger aged games, but over a third is an easy one to pick.  but everyone is human.

Many thanks for all your comments

no, that is not correct. the ball can bounce for it to be a over a third (if not touched aswell). hope that umpire lern't that.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans