TRANSFORM YOUR TEAM'S SEASON WITH PROFESSIONALLY PLANNED SESSIONS
Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.JOIN NOW
Team yellowhas centre pass- but ball not touched in centre third but caught by green team in goal third. Is this a penalty as 1st pass not received in centre third or can play go on?
It is a penalty the call is 'over a third'. The penalty is award where the ball has landed. As you may be aware the ball must be touched in every third.
Thats not quite right, the correct call is 'advantage' 12.2.4 If a member of the opposing team touches or catches the Centre Pass in the Goal Third, or with feet astride the transverse line, play continues. This player's subsequent pass is considered to have been made from the Goal Third
if the opposing team touches the ball in the goal third and then goes out of the sideline, what happens next - throw in for the team who originally took the C (as opposition last touched ball) or back to 'over a third' ??
The call of advantage is usually only used by umpires when one team has less of an advantage if the ball is brought back to a penalty. For example, if the yellow C has thrown the ball into the goal third without anyone touching it and the red GK is under pressure to get the ball (eg. defending player or the ball going out of court), I would def call the over a third penalty and allow the red team to have a free pass otherwise it would be unfair for the red team. Having said that, if a call of advantage over a third has been made and then the ball goes out of court, umpires should not change their decision. So if the advantage call was made and then the red GK touched it before going out of court, then yes it would be a yellow throw in. Hopefully some of this makes sense!!
Hi all in actual fact the advantage call is not called as the rule book stipulates that if the opposing team receive it in the goal third play just continues and therefore if the opposing team tip it and it then goes out then the throw in is awarded to the team who had the centre pass originally as they are now the non offending team
Create a resolution to develop your coaching confidence by seizing the opportunity to discover new drills, turn ideas into action and seek advice from the coaching community.
World Rugby has reportedly conceded Aaron Smith's disallowed try in the World Cup final should have stood.
"It is not only useful for staff who are experienced but a valuable tool for those subject staff who have to take teams."
Give it a try - it's better in the app