Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

When can a goal defender move from an out of play position?

Can a goal defender move from an out of play position if the shooter steps in from where the infringer was standing, to take a shot? I know the rules say the infringer can move once the ball is released, but can the defender move up next to the shooter, while out of play? Thanks

Only allowed to move from place of infringement once the ball is released. 

GD moving alongside the shooter when she steps in would be considered as rejoining play as putting them in a more advantageous position for a rebound and possibly affecting the player taking the shot.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans