What can you do (if anything) if the umpire advances the ball a whole third?

What can you do (if anything) if the umpire advances the ball a whole third?

I know that you're not allowed to dispute an umpires call, but I recently played in a game where I was unfairly called for contact and upon rolling my eyes at the call (bad move, I know) I had the ball advanced from the middle of the centre third to right underneath the goal post. According to the rule book an umpire can only advance the ball about half a third or 5 metres, so was there anything i could've done at quarter time or so to clarify the umpires decision?

Kirra Player, Australia
ANSWERS
Sportplan TeamAdministrator, United Kingdom

Hi Kirra,

According to the rules, an umpire can advance a sanction up to half a third of the court, which may be inside the goal circle if the infringement was in the goal third. However, the advancement of the ball should not exceed this distance. If you feel that the decision was incorrect, during a break or interval, you can ask the on-court captain to seek clarification from the umpire regarding the decision. It's important to approach this respectfully and not dispute the ruling directly, as players are not allowed to dispute umpire decisions.

In the future, if you're unsure about a call, it's best to ask for clarification politely through your captain rather than reacting in a way that might be perceived as unsporting. This can help maintain good relations with the officials and avoid further penalties.

I hope this helps,

The Sportplan Team

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

Sportplan App

Give it a try - it's better in the app

YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT