Stepping on sideline ruling?
I would like clarification regarding a rule and I can't seem to find it when going through the rule book.A pass is thrown within the field of play to another player, this player lands with one foot in the court, whilst the second landing foot lands on the sideline of the court. Is play deemed to continue, or is it deemed that the ball has gone out of play as the player has stepped in possession of the ball out of bounds.
Hi Michael,
If the players landing foot is on court and their other foot is on the sideline, this would be fine and play would be deemed to continue. All lines are part of all areas they are bound to, therefore the sideline is part of the court and all ok.
However, if their landing foot was on court but their other foot was out of court/off the sideline then this would be deemed out of court and the ball would be given to the opposition.
Hope this helps.
Hi Michael,
If the players landing foot is on court and their other foot is on the sideline, this would be fine and play would be deemed to continue. All lines are part of all areas they are bound to, therefore the sideline is part of the court and all ok.
However, if their landing foot was on court but their other foot was out of court/off the sideline then this would be deemed out of court and the ball would be given to the opposition.
Hope this helps.
