Simultaneous possession by two players on the same team...

Simultaneous possession by two players on the same team...

When two players on the same team catch the ball simultaneously, and one player releases the ball, what should the umpires decision be? Should it be "Held ball", or should play continue?

Ron PadgettCoach, Australia
TOP ANSWER
Lee-annes NetballCoach, Australia

when you have issues with umpires go and talk to the umpire conveyor and get them to look into it.  that way all the umpires for that area will be shown what the correct call is if its found that the umpire has mistinterpreted a rule.  but umpires arent superhumans.  they will make mistakes.

ANSWERS
Janet Coach, Australia

If the catch is simultaneous by both players and one releases then play continues with no infringement for a "short pass" & player retaining possession must pass within 3 seconds to avoid "held ball" call.  The umpire must determine if there was possession by one player first which can be difficult and that first player must retain the possession to avoid the "short pass" penalty.  In my experience there are few simultaneous possessions and usually one player has got the ball first even if only by a split second.

Ron PadgettCoach, Australia

Thanks for clearing it up Janet. I always thought what you said was the proper decision, although many umpires are calling "Short Pass."

Netball CoachCoach

I saw the short pass called on the weekend...interesting

Ron PadgettCoach, Australia

Yes Julie, It happens quite frequently. I guess it's up to us to hopefully assist these umpires where possible.

Lee-annes NetballCoach, Australia

when you have issues with umpires go and talk to the umpire conveyor and get them to look into it.  that way all the umpires for that area will be shown what the correct call is if its found that the umpire has mistinterpreted a rule.  but umpires arent superhumans.  they will make mistakes.

Ron PadgettCoach, Australia

Yes Lee-annes I know that is the correct procedure. I was an umpire previous to being a coach. Thanks for your advice.

Janet Coach, Australia

An umpire usually is in a better position than spectators to judge a possession call, particularly in the goal ring but if they get it wrong a few times during a game it is helpful to all to raise it via the right channels. 

Ron PadgettCoach, Australia

Yep I agree thanks Janet.

Kim Coach, New Zealand

Hi, this would be a short-pass wouldn't it? Especially if they are on the same team

Ron PadgettCoach, Australia

Hi Kim, this question has been satisfactorily answered by Janet.

See her first answer. This is an umpiring query that confuses quite a few umpires and coaches, but I do believe Janet has correctly answered my question.

All the best in netball.

Kim Coach, New Zealand

Whoops thanks Ron, next time I should read the answers.

Have a great season everyone

Yours in netball 

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

TRANSFORM YOUR TEAM'S SEASON WITH PROFESSIONALLY PLANNED SESSIONS

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

JOIN NOW

VIEW MORE QUESTIONS

See the whole archive of questions.

QUESTIONS ARCHIVE

SIGN UP NOW FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional netball coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested netball plans
YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT