Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Shooter stepping in to shoot once defender has 3 feet

After 3 feet has been established between the shooter and defender, and then the shooter steps in to the defender, allowing the defender to then touch the ball, is it contact by the defender, or did the shooter cause the contact on the ball?

Your comment of "allowing the defender to then touch the ball" would indicate it is the defender who moved their hands (or hand) onto the ball. That is still contact on the ball. If the shooter pushes the ball into their outstretched hands then it shouldn't be called against the defender, but often is.

Thanks, thought so.


Answered using Sportplan on Mobile

Forget the distance, as this is a question of contact , not obstruction. If a defender touches the ball she has contacted and the sanction is a penalty. If the attacker pushes the ball against a stationary defender (stationary hands included) then the attacker has committed contact and again, the sanction is a penalty.
Answered using Sportplan Mobile App

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans