Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Rule 13: Playing the ball

I am currently going through the rule book with my team to improve their understanding but had some queries from a player that has played at quite a high level in Australia. In particular rule 13.1(v) which states: a player may having batted the ball once, either catch or direct the ball to another player and 13.1(vi) having bounced the ball once, either catch or direct the ball to another player. She disputes this rule and says the ball cannot be bounced or batted under control before catching it as umpires have called it replayed ball. Can someone please clarify as I am using England netball official rule book 2011 edition.

It is just as the rule book says but you will see different applications of the rules by different umpires/associations.  My own assoc in Aust needs to get all our umpires on the same page on this one as we have too many umpires penalising a bounce/bat/tip & catch in mid court but allowing same in goal ring (go figure) and a few not allowing any bounce/bat/tip & catch anywhere. Many players, coaches, umpires and parents question rules from their own experiences but may have never read the rule book properly.  In my own umpiring I will generally only penalise a two handed bounce & catch as a replayed ball(two hands on ball = catch).

i agree Janet. i think this rule is one of the most inconsistantly applied rule in the entire book.  it would be nice if it was applied the way it was written, but id settle for consistancy across the umpires.

I believe the intent of the replay rule is to prevent a controlled double play. If the player is not in control of the ball (example chasing a loose ball) it is not replay.
Answered using Sportplan on Mobile

Hi Anita. You are correct in that if a player is not in control of the ball it is not replay and may tip, bat or bounce the ball any number of times if unable to catch the ball.  The question of control is only considered to determine if the ball was caught or not which could be with one hand or both. The catch means they took possession of it so cannot replay the ball. The rules allow for one bat, tip or bounce & catch or direct to another player and this can be in either an uncontrolled or controlled manner. As always train your players to the correct rulings in the rule book but also to adjust their game to the umpires interpretations.  If you are sure that an umpire is getting something consistently wrong raise the issue through the right channels as it helps everyone to sort it out.

thank you for this question as after watching the last 3 carnivals have seen this rule interpreted many different ways.  I wish there was consistency.  In our last carnival where we had to provide our own umpires from our clubs, our umpire interpreted the rule differently to the other teams umpire.  It was confusing for the girls.  I now have a good understanding after reading these answers.  

 

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans