Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Pivot versus stepping

If you pivot on the ball of your foot and then your heel is this a legal move?

i cant think why you would do that?  it is becoming common practise for shooters to split and catch the ball, and then push the heal of the back foot into the ground and pivot on their heal to gain an extra foot closer to the goal, but cant think why you would pivot on the ball of your foot then on the heal. does sound a bit like stepping, with my thinking that you can probably only use one source of pivot point, so either ball or heal, but not both.  but i wouldnt be able to find a reference for it.  anyone else (Janet your awesome with the technical stuff) want to clarify?

Thanks. The shooter was doing this last night and was not getting called for it and when we asked the umpire it is allowed as it is a new form of pivot and we should check the rules ????

it is legal to pivot on the heal, but no idea about ball then heal...cant see why she would turn on ball then heal though...sounds a bit odd.

I'll add my comment on this one. Joanne, do you mean a player may be pivoting on the ball, rock weight back on the heal, pivot on heal to swing the foot around to face another direction to pass?  If so, it would be legal like the goalie move of ball of foot to heal, pivot and weight to ball again. The rules (14.1(ii)) state a player can step with the other foot in any direction any number of times while pivoting on the landing foot so don't clearly exclude more than one pivot on the landing foot as long as it is not lifted and regrounded before passing.  There are probably a few different opinions/interpretations on this though but if it is not clearly excluded in the rules then it shouldn't be penalised.

the example i had today. GS facing away from goal to circle edge. Heel is lifted and on ball of foot. Once shooter has the ball she drops the heel so she has allready gained 20 cm then pivots on the heel not the ball of the foot, thereby gaining an extra foot. so this is legal? then effectively they are gaining an extra foot legally?  im sure the rules were written when this was not an issue. is this because umpires cannot determine what part of the foot was grounded?

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans