Obstruction in the Circle

Obstruction in the Circle

Tonight we played a team where the GD stood right in front of the GS or GA. He had his back to the shooter(with the ball), he didn't put up an arm but he stood so close (without touching) that the shooter couldn't get any leverage with her shot. If the shooter stepped back he shuffled with her. The umpires didn't pull it up at all. Is this allowed or do they have to be three feet away? Any feedback would be much appreciated, I would just like to know if this is allowed or is it obstruction? Thanks

Lizzie WalshCoach, New Zealand
TOP ANSWER
Simon ThomasonCoach, Australia

Hi Lizzie,

Here`s what the rules say: "A defending player may be within 0.9 m (3 ft) of an opponent with the ball provided there is no interference with the throwing or shooting action of this player. The defending player may not make any effort to intercept the ball or defend the player with the ball."

Umpires usually seem to call obstruction only if the defender puts their arm up as this is the most obvious signal that they are interfering with play. SO unless he made conact as he came back it is probably allowed even though it may be off-putting. You shooters might need to adjust their technique making sure they get their arms up nice and high so that they can shoot over him, unless of course he`s 7ft tall!

Hope this helps,

Simon.

ANSWERS
Simon ThomasonCoach, Australia

Hi Lizzie,

Here`s what the rules say: "A defending player may be within 0.9 m (3 ft) of an opponent with the ball provided there is no interference with the throwing or shooting action of this player. The defending player may not make any effort to intercept the ball or defend the player with the ball."

Umpires usually seem to call obstruction only if the defender puts their arm up as this is the most obvious signal that they are interfering with play. SO unless he made conact as he came back it is probably allowed even though it may be off-putting. You shooters might need to adjust their technique making sure they get their arms up nice and high so that they can shoot over him, unless of course he`s 7ft tall!

Hope this helps,

Simon.

Janet Coach, Australia

Sounds like there was possibly interference with the shooting action & shuffling back with shooter constitutes defending. Defending player must not attempt to defend or interfere within the .9m and that does not necessarily mean just raising arms. Get captain to ask for rule clarification/interpretation from umpire next time but you are bound to play within their interpretation even if it is not quite right.
Answered using Sportplan Mobile App

Lizzie WalshCoach, New Zealand

Thanks very much for your answers!

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

TRANSFORM YOUR TEAM'S SEASON WITH PROFESSIONALLY PLANNED SESSIONS

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

JOIN NOW

VIEW MORE QUESTIONS

See the whole archive of questions.

QUESTIONS ARCHIVE

SIGN UP NOW FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional netball coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested netball plans
YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT