Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Obstructing player with back to the ball less than 3 feet away.

I am a coach and an umpire, but i have been doing more coaching than umpiring of late. I have noticed a particular peculiarity with regards to the obstruction rule that i have seen more and more than i really do not think is correct. I have politely challenged asking the umpires concerned and also a second opinion from another umpire and they agree with me.We have had a defending player who is standing less than a foot away with her back to the person shooting with her arms up who is clearly interfering with the shot. The explanation i was given by the umpire that let this go unchallenged said that as long as the player can bring her arms up to shoot that is ok.My argument is that if a side or goal line pass is taken and the defending player has her back to the playing taking the pass then that shouldn't be challenged either.I agree that sometimes when the shot is under the post it is difficult to get 3 feet or with covid rules 4 feet away. But a lot of shooter follow there shoot through before releasing the ball, and when this is impeded sure all of these things constitute obstruction.Please help me, because although i am pretty confident that i am right and this umpire, and a number of other umpires i have noticed are doing the same. Can i please have feedback.
No answers have been posted for this question.
Log in to join the Discussion

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans