Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

I have a trick I use during my cente pass. the centre?

I have a trick I use during my cente pass. the centre just places the ball on the ground after the whistle ha blown and then the WD comes up from behind and picks up the ball and plays. This has caused quite a stir and some umpires then punish my team. What is the rule and can we use this trick? Thank you! Ronel

I saw this "trick" used a few weeks ago but it wasn't penalised by the umpires - hope someone has the answer.

As an umpire I can say I have never seen this tactic used. However,as I picture it, I do not think that it is punishable as no rules have been broken. On the other hand, I think it is a tactic that would only work once as the opposing centre will work out what is going on and seeing as they are closer they will get the ball before the WD.

Can you please explain what the purpose of this move is. The way I see this tactic is that it would be very risky and slow the passage of the ball down.

This is not a new move.I first saw it used in 2000 at the SAPSASA netball carnival.It only works for a couple of centre passes before the opposition catches on. I dont think it should  be penalised. What would the umpires call be?

The trick actually works, but we are a junior netball team and as soon as we do this trickm the whole opposite team just stands still and we have a clear three seconds to the goal schooter! Its actually quite funny to see the girl's faces!! We aactually just use it once in a game and it is really great for their morale! Thank you so much! you are such a great help! Love R

I have seen this happen at high school. The umpire blew this as a short pass as the centre did not give way when she put the ball down.

Sorry Guys, Your team has been breaking the rule 12.2.1 "When the whistle is blown the centre in possession of the ball shall THROW it within (3) seconds and shall obey the footwork rule. Putting the ball on the ground is NOT a pass or THROW! Dean Lawrance - Australia.

Thank You , Dean! It does make sense! iT'S A PITY THOUGH! I have since posting the question, spoke to one of our SA umpires as well, Hester Kritzinger, and she said the same thing. What saddens me is the fact that South Africa doesn't give netball the same rank as Rugby or Cricket, and it is sad because we work so hard on Primary School level, my team has actually went to Noordvaal (That's the same as the SA championships in the old days)and we are a small town in the country. I love watching you from overseas on DSTV, although we don't see alot of netball on TV. I could go on and on about the fairness in netball in SA, but that would take the whole day and I actually just want to say that I admire you guys overseas and appreciate you taking the time to answer our questions! Keep up the great work! Love R

Join now for free

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans