Attacking backline pass off the post?

Attacking backline pass off the post?

HiCan a shooter rebound the ball( from a backline throw in) off the post and jump onto court, catch the ball from the post rebound and then shoot? It seems crazy to me but I have been told that this is now allowed?

Sue KerseyCoach, England
ANSWERS
Janet Coach, Australia

YES as long as they are already on court before they catch the ball I.e. can't jump from out of court, catch ball in the air then land on court. Allowed under Rule 13.1(ii) - A player may gain or regain control of the ball after rebounding from the goalpost. It doesn't seem quite in the spirit of the game to me but it is legal.

Sue KerseyCoach, England

Thank you Janet. What would the call be from the umpire if they did catch the ball off the post before grounding, would it be repossesion?

Netball CoachCoach

I think the call would be "out of court" and the other team would then have a throw in.  The shooter was still technically off the court when they caught the ball as they hadn't landed inside the court yet.

Sue KerseyCoach, England

That makes perfect sense, thank you so much!

Janet Coach, Australia

Correct Liz. A throw in should be awarded to the opposition.

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

TRANSFORM YOUR TEAM'S SEASON WITH PROFESSIONALLY PLANNED SESSIONS

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

JOIN NOW

VIEW MORE QUESTIONS

See the whole archive of questions.

QUESTIONS ARCHIVE

SIGN UP NOW FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create professional netball coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested netball plans
YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT