Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Latching on in rugby to a player with a ball often happens at the base of the ruck now. When is the binding onto a player who has the ball deemed dangerous and penalisesd by a ref?

Ask a question and have it answered by Coaches from around the world and Sportplan's team of Experts.

Jon

As long as the player with the ball has picked up at the base of the ruck and not run into any of his/her teammates in front, then play continues as normal and the ruck is over.

The ball must be at the back of the ruck otherwise the referee may penalise for "handling in a ruck." If, in normal play, a teammate binds onto the ball carrier as long as it is just before contact the referee normally allows play to continue.

Check out the new irb laws website (irblaws.com) to check more thoroughly the laws on this and all other laws!

I hope this helps you.

Simon

Simon, Thanks for the info...... after teaching our players to latch on they were doing in from open play. I guess if they are just holding onto the ball carriers shorts/shirt then there would be no problem. Our players started to bind on well before contact was made and were penalised when doing it from a tap penalty.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans