Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Is anchoring at the breakdown legal?

At the breakdown is blue ball carrier gets tackled going to ground. The next blue player arrives and crouches over the ball and anchors onto the tackled player. Is this legal? It is assumed that he's not off his feet etc which is a separate offence

As long as the player gets into a "positive" shape (shoulders above the hip line, head up, stays on his/her feet) and is not trying to dive, it is legal. After opponent makes contact though, it's all about adjusting to what the ref wants. Some refs are totally ok with blue player staying anchored (again maintaining good shape) the entire time, even after opponent starts counter-ruck push, others will want the blue player to get hands away. In this case, blue player can release his/her anchor, stay in good low shape on feet and grab opponent to contain the push.

So my opinion is that players simply need to be aware of ref's needs and adjust accordingly.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans