Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Can players throw ball forward to themselves then catch it?

if i throw the ball forward and catch it before it touches any opponent or the ground is that a forward pass

Hi Kakuru,

Thanks for your question, this caused some debate in the Sportplan office! It would be deemed as a forward pass due to the following:

If the ball leaves a players' hands and doesn't touch another player, the player who threw the ball must use their feet for their next touch. If they throw it forward and kick it before it hits the floor, that will be fine, but they cannot throw the ball forward and catch it.

Hope that helps!

Can you guys then explain this...

Error or legal option?

Is it possible (with BOD's forward running momentum) the pass is actually flat?

i suppose the key word here is "forward" the o'driscoll self pass looks to be flat or even slighty backwards

Stepping through the video it appears that the pass is ever so slightly forwards, however the usual caveat that the ref watches once at full speed.

O'Driscoll's feet are just behind the line when he releases the pop pass, and are still behind the line when he re-gathers it, so in the context of the game and the spirit of the law rather than the letter of the law I would call this a good pass.

But while the ball is in the air, he is running behind another player. Irealize this is not obstruction per se, b/c at the moment he is not "carrying" the ball. Yet, it somehow feels like obstruction, and as a former ref, I find it troubling as to the spirit of the law.

On the other hand, it is quite a neat techincal feat.

it looked like the ball left the hand by being flicked back so the pass could be forward but left the hand in a backward motion

It was just pure skill and awareness all within the laws ,no forward pass

It's like a scissor or switch play where the ball sender is also the ball receiver, so no obstruction. If he'd "meant" to pass it to his 10 and the 10 missed it and Brian was smart enough (as he is!) to be able to catch the ball because he was looping, it would be almost the same play.  Brilliant and absolutely within the law.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

View more questions

Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans