Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

What is the U9s 2 second rule when placing ball post tackle?

My understanding is the rules state the when the referee calls a tackle the tackled player needs to pass the ball within 3 seconds from the call, regardless if he is on the ground or being held.

My question is this, if the player goes to ground and does not make a pop pass but places the ball, do he his team mates have 3 seconds to pick up and pass the ball or an indefinite period while attacking team stays onside?

Tricky one, good example of badly written rules.  I think the implication here (and the way we played it a couple of years ago) is that you have an unlimited amount of time.  Once the players have got the hang of this, it is why you should progress to the optional rule for turnovers after the 7th tackle (obviously with the permission of the opposition and ref!).

Thanks,

Antony

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans