Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

ELV's 22m rule, kicking clear from your 22.

With the new 22m ruling in the ELV's the ball cannot be carried or passed into the 22 and kicked directly into touch. Does this rule apply if a ball carrier is tackled and forced into their 22 or if the ball is carried into the 22 and then the ball carrier is tackled inside their 22? In either of these situations is the team in possession allowed to kick directly to touch without a lineout being awarded to the opposition from the position where the ball was kicked?

in any situation where the ball is taken back in to the 22 ,the ball can not be kicked directly to touch. however if you carry back then go through a phase of play ie ball carrier is tackled and sets up a ruck , the ball can then be kicked directly to touch without loss of ground.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

View more questions

Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans