In a last ditch attempt to save a try I ankle tapped?
In a last ditch attempt to save a try I ankle tapped the opposition ball carrier. I was subsequently penalized by the ref for an illegal tackle. I have seen ankle taps in many international games and have never seen a penalty from it. Is the ankle tap a legal form of tackle? Have the laws changed in regards to ankle taps?
If you were off your feet, then technically you were out of the game, which is probably why you were penalised. If you made the tackle while still in motion (i.e. in the momentum of the tackle)the referee would be more inclined to let play continue. The strict interpretation of the tackle needs the tackler to attempt to grasp the ball carrier. If the ankle tap is a knock instead of a grab that might explain the penalty too.
I was diving for the ball carrier from behind. All I could reach was his ankle.
Then the ref made a mistake Todd. Simon
