Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Flanker pickup from scrum

Is it legal for a flanker to unbind and pick up the ball from a scrum if the ball comes to his channel?

If the ball is still in the scrum then it is illegal, unless somehow the flanker has become the player in the scrum whose hindmost feet are the furthest back (see rule 20.10 (c)), obviously this is normlly the Number 8.

Once the ball leaves the scrum (possibly through his channel) then it is fair game.

The question you have to ask yourself is:

Did the ball come out and then the flanker unbind and pick up? If yes, play on. Or, did the flanker unbind before the ball was out and pick up the ball at his feet? If yes, it's a penalty.

Thanks,

Antony

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans