Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

What can the referee do when in-goal player catches the ball and is late tackled?

An in-goal player catches the ball from an opponent's kick and touches it down. That player is then late tackled. What actions are available to the referee?

Tricky one.... in the first instance the offending player should be warned or potentially yellow carded depending on the severity of the late tackle. In terms of the penalty being taken by the defending team, this should restart as a penalty from the 22m line in line from from where the offence happened. A full penalty meaning that the defending team can kick direct to touch and still retain possession for the lineout. 

Pretty sure the above is correct and certainly a resolution to the questions

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans