My U18s were refused a quick lineout?

My U18s were refused a quick lineout?

My under 18 team tried to take a quick lineout with one attacker in the lineout and 2 defenders in the lineout. When he threw the ball to another attacker who was about 10metres behind the lineout he was told by the referee that the lineout had formed and could not take a quick penalty. What is the clarification of this as I always thought you had to have at least 2 players from each team in the lineout to say that the lineout had formed?

Rugby CoachCoach
Simon JonesCoach, England


I think the referee was right but there is an element of hoping that referees will play to the spirit of the game and encourage the ball to be in play as much as possible.

Players in line out definition taken from the website:

Players taking part in the lineout known as participating players. Players taking part in the lineout are the player who throws-in and an immediate opponent, the two players waiting to receive the ball from the lineout and the lineout players.

Here is the Law relating to the quick throw in:


(a) A player may take a quick throw-in without waiting for a lineout to form.

(b) For a quick throw-in, the player may be anywhere outside the field of play between the place where the ball went into touch and the players goal line.

(c) A player must not take a quick throw-in after the lineout has formed. If the player does, the quick throw-in is disallowed. The same team throws in at the lineout.

(d) For a quick throw-in, the player must use the ball that went into touch. If, after it went to touch and was made dead, another ball is used, or if another person has touched the ball apart from the player throwing it in, then the quick throw-in is disallowed. The same team throws in at the lineout.

(e) At a quick throw-in, if the player throws the ball in the direction of the oppositions goal line or if the ball does not travel at least five metres to the five metres line along or behind the line of touch before it touches the ground or a player, or if the player steps into the field of play when the ball is thrown, then the quick throw-in is disallowed. The opposing team chooses to throw in at either a lineout where the quick throw-in was attempted, or a scrum on the15-metre line at that place. If they too throw in the ball incorrectly at the lineout, a scrum is formed on the 15-metre line. The team that first threw in the ball throws in the ball at the scrum.

(f) At a quick throw-in a player may throw the ball in straight along the line of touch or towards that players goal line.

(g) At a quick throw-in, a player may come to the line of touch and leave without being penalised.

(h) At a quick throw-in, a player must not prevent the ball being thrown in 5 metres. Penalty: Free Kick on 15-metre line

(i) If a player carrying the ball is forced into touch, that player must release the ball to an opposition player so that there can be a quick throw-in. Penalty: Penalty Kick on 15-metre line

I hope this helps


Rugby CoachCoach

I had a similar situation while i was refereeing an U13's match.

The defending team rushed 2 players into i line, but the attacking team commited no players to the line.

I allowed the quick throw to be taken, as the Laws state that you require 2 players from each team to form a lineout.

Was I correct?

Steve LanderCoach, England

The law quoted above is old law. There is a distinction to be made between a quick throw and a quick lineout . For a lineout to be formed there must be two players from each side in the lineout or approaching the lineout within 10 metres. Once formed the ball must be thrown in from the mark along the line of touch but as quick as you want, you do not have to wait for all the rest to join. As described this is not the case. If the ball has not been touched by anyone and is available for a quick throw then this quick throw should have been allowed. The thrower in must be behind the line and the ball travel 5 metres but not necessarily straight! Always supposing the ref didn`t need to catch his breath? Ha Ha! Frustrating when as a coach you want to encourage players to play!

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer


  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans


Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.



See the whole archive of questions.



  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional rugby coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested rugby plans

Sportplan App

Give it a try - it's better in the app

YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the growing community of rugby coaches plus 1100+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.