Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1000+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

claiming fouls by hitting the ball at the opposing player body.

if a player in possession of the ball intentionally hits the ball at the foot of the opposing player in order to slow down the game or for any other advantage is it permissible,what if the same scenario occurs in the shooting circle.

Hi there,

The rules do dictate that if a player in possession deliberately plays the ball onto the opposition foot, then the possession must be surrendered and a free hit awarded to the opposition.
Think of this in a similar manner as to how you cannot run directly into a player who isn't trying to play the ball but isn't five yards away from a free hit in an attempt to get them carded. 

However, it is very difficult to ever say a player deliberately played the ball into someones foot, as it could always be said they would have claimed some advantage by the players foot not interfering with play. In 15 years of playing Hockey, I have seen one decision occur relating to this issue.

The same thing should apply in the circle, but again, very unlikely for the decision to go against the player initially in possession.

Hope this is clear, let me know if you need any further info

 

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1000+ hockey drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1000+ hockey drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans