Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1000+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

If there are two defenders trying to tackle one player.?

If there are two defenders trying to tackle one player. Do you pull up for two on one or do all three sticks need to be making contact with the ball?

Susan, no foul is committed until the player with the ball is impedied by one of the 2 players trying to tackle them.

I like to think the person with the ball has right of way, as long as they have the ball under control and are running forward (eg not reversing with back first). 

If either of the defenders in attempting to tackle touches the attack or their stick prior to the ball, a foul is committed.

Agree with John as above, but as umpire you cant assume they are going to tackle (ie stick check) poorly. You need to watch and see how the tackles play out, also watch for the attacker actually hitting the defenders stick first particularly if the defenders stick is stationary on the turf. If this happens then free against attacker, even tho they have the ball. Having the ball is no right of way, you need to assess each action in its own result, ie who hit who or who obstructed who first.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1000+ hockey drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1000+ hockey drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans