Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

If batter reaches 2nd post and 3rd is stumped but then bowler drops...

If a batter reaches 2nd post and 3rd is stumped, but then the ball is throw and not caught by the bowler, can the batter continue her run to 3rd and 4th? Would she be out, would she score half, would she score a full rounder?

The batter on 2nd would have achieved half a rounder by reaching this post. They can run on but can't score a rounder. This is because the 3rd base has been stumped, and this negates the scoring. She would not be out.

Hope this helps.

A batter can continue to run until the bowler has control of the ball in the bowling square. If the post immediately in front of the live batter was stumped when they were either in reach of or in contact with the previous post, they are purely running to get home as opposed to increasing their score. A batter is only out if the post is stumped as they are running to it. In the case above, the player would score half (at 2nd) unless they are out before another ball has been bowled. If 4th post had been stumped when the live batter was at 2nd, then they would still be able to score a rounder since it was not the post immediately in front that had been stimped.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 100+ rounders drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 100+ rounders drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans