Can we dribble using 2 hands in handball?

Can we dribble using 2 hands in handball?

Can we dribble using two hands in handball as like basketball?????

Handball CoachCoach
ANSWERS
Handball CoachCoach

yes

lumbuye lynkhrCoach, Uganda

no in handball we dribble using one hand and it's at side of your body. two hands are used for catching a pass and also making a two handed pass to a near teammate.

Ian MarshCoach, England

Dribbling with one hand is more common but there is no rule to prevent you dribbling with two hands, as long as players are only using the upper half of their hands (palming the ball). If players are deemed to have caught the ball and bounce it again the referee can award a turnover (this is like the double dribble rule in basketball).

Handball CoachCoach

yes we can but not like basket ball like u can't make dribble under you legs like basket ball nut u can 

Roland KopCoach, Netherlands

I think you should be able to dribble with both hands. In break sitsuations it is most helpful if you can dribble with both hands. In this way you can 'protect' the ball from defenders. 

Also when feinting and dribbling once with your 'wrong' hand is a weapon you can use to score goals.

jorge manuel rebelo rodriguesCoach, Portugal

 We can dribble the ball only with one hand at the time, no matters wich with, left or right but not with both at the same time. The reception and pass can be done with both hands.

Sorry Mr. lumbuye but you can dribble also infront of your body, not only at side of your body

ramalingam Coach, India

jorge manuel sir,there is no advantage gained by the player when he dribble by using both hand..but i'm not sure about that please explain.....

Roland KopCoach, Netherlands

The rules say :

Both hands at the same time is not allowed, changing hands is allowed.

Dribbling anywhere-everywhere with one hand is also allowed according to the rules. Difference with basketball is that it is NOT allowed to scoop the ball from the side and giving it another direction this way. There's a imaginary line in the center of the ball (like the equator) that you may not cross with your hand. You have to keep on touching the ball on the 'northern hemisphere' ;-)

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 1200+ handball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

TRANSFORM YOUR TEAM'S SEASON WITH PROFESSIONALLY PLANNED SESSIONS

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 700+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

JOIN NOW

VIEW MORE QUESTIONS

See the whole archive of questions.

QUESTIONS ARCHIVE

SIGN UP NOW FOR FREE

  • search our library of 1200+ handball drills
  • create professional handball coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested handball plans
Handball POPULAR SEARCH TERMS
YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the growing community of handball coaches plus 1200+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT