Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

What happens if the ball is thrown against a base to get a runner out?

the fielder successfully throws the ball against a base trying to get out a runner?

Not out as the Fielder needs control of the ball whilst stumping out the runner.

What happens if a player doesnt run on from 2nd post but the hitter passes 1st and runs on to 2nd (two players at the same post). The fielding team have stumped 3rd post. I call the player out at 3rd and award half a rounder to the incomming player but Im not sure if the rule changed. Can anyone clarify?

Throwing the ball at the base - Not out. the post or base has to be stumped by the hand/ball holding the ball anywhere up to the wrist, back or front. If the post is dislodged from the base, the base is stumped. If both the post and base are off their spot, the spot on the ground where they should be is the place to stump.

2 players at one post - Almost correct - When the second player contacts the post, the umpire should direct the first player to move on. That batter is only out if the post they are running to is stumped when they are on their way to it and before they make contact. If both players decide to run on and the post they are running to is stumped, both out! Yes to half a rounder for the second player if they remain at second and hit the ball.

Join now for free

  • search our library of 100+ rounders drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 100+ rounders drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans