When can a goal defender move from an out of play position?

When can a goal defender move from an out of play position?

Can a goal defender move from an out of play position if the shooter steps in from where the infringer was standing, to take a shot? I know the rules say the infringer can move once the ball is released, but can the defender move up next to the shooter, while out of play? Thanks

Amy WilliamsPlayer, Australia
ANSWERS
Louise MazzeoPlayer, Wales

Only allowed to move from place of infringement once the ball is released.

GD moving alongside the shooter when she steps in would be considered as rejoining play as putting them in a more advantageous position for a rebound and possibly affecting the player taking the shot.

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

Sportplan App

Give it a try - it's better in the app

YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT