Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 1100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

What happens after an unsuccessful maul in the case of a kick-off?

Following the TV explanation of the referee's decision for an unsuccessful maul, but from a kick-off, I looked up the following rule (the latest version on the IRB site).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

17.6 UNSUCCESSFUL END TO A MAUL

(h) Scrum after a maul when catcher is held. If a player catches the ball direct from an opponent’s kick, except from a kick-off or a drop-out, and the player is immediately held by an opponent, a maul may form. Then if the maul remains stationary, stops moving forward for longer than 5 seconds, or if the ball becomes unplayable, and a scrum is ordered, the team of the ball catcher throws in the ball.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

It states "except from a kick-off or a drop-out", but then nowhere can I find what happens IN the case of a kick-off or a drop-out. Does anyone know the answer? That is, who gets the put-in?  The explanation given on Sky by an Italian commentator was as though the exception above should in fact have been removed (although the wording in the Italian version of the laws is identical).

No answers have been posted for this question.
Log in to join the Discussion

Join now for free

  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 1100+ rugby drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans