Transform your
team's season with
professionally
planned sessions

Use our expert plans or build your own using our library of over 100+ drills, and easy-to-use tools.

Is a catch following a deflection considered 'out'?

If a fielder deflects a hit ball that is then caught by another fielder without it touching the ground, is this classed as out?

It's my understanding that if the ball is caught before it hits the ground then the batter is out - so I can't see why a deflection would alter anything. 

Im pretty sure I've seen the exact same thing happen in cricket before, where a fielder passed the ball to a team-mate whilst in midair, and it was considered legal and the player was declared out. 

Here's that deflected catch clip I was referring to:

[video embedded by Sportplan Team]

As long as it doesn't touch the floor, the call should be out

Join now for free

  • search our library of 100+ rounders drills
  • create professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans
Join now for free
  • search our library of 100+ rounders drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans